News Item

SD22 Teachers Win Premier's Awards for Excellence in Education

October 07, 2019

On Friday, October 4, Superintendent Joe Rogers and Gen Acton, Board Vice Chair attended the Premier’s Awards for Excellence in Education ceremony held at Government House in Victoria. Sheila Monroe, Brendan Robertson, and Al Gee were nominated by their peers for the awards.

The awards were launched last year to honour the outstanding achievements of public, independent and First Nations school teachers, principals, vice-principals, administrators and support staff in the K-12 school system.

Al Gee won in the category of Community & Engagement. Criteria for this category included increasing students’ understanding of good citizenship by integrating school and civic involvement within the classroom and improving the civic community life by linking students, parents and the community to address civic community issues. Sheila Monroe was also a finalist in this category for her outstanding work with the pollinator garden at OKL.

Brendan Robertson won in the Technology & Innovation category, and was recognized for engaging students in hands-on technology based learning by integrating the use of digital technology in the classrooms and applying leading technologies to course material and course requirements.

Be sure to view the videos of our finalists:
Al Gee:
Brendan Robertson:
Sheila Monroe:

Winners of this year’s Premier’s Awards for Excellence in Education received a commemorative work of art by Claire Jorgensen, a 17-year-old Reynolds Secondary student (SD 61, Greater Victoria). They also received a $3,000 personal bursary for professional learning and a $2,000 contribution to their school community for professional learning.

Congratulations to Al, Brendan and Sheila for achieving this great accomplishment and thank you to each of you for your dedication, hard work and belief in our students.